Alumni/ae News
1998 Alum Rev. Lillie Mae Henley Named Interim Minister of Bradford Community Church

The Rev. Lillie Mae Henley has been selected as Bradford Community Church Unitarian Universalist’s new interim minister. She begins her ministry on Tuesday and will serve for a two-year period.

Henley graduated from Meadville Lombard Theological School in 1998 and served as a minister in Washington, D.C., as well as in Fort Worth in her native state of Texas. She also completed three interim assignments in Stafford, Texas; Toledo, Ohio, and Winston-Salem, N.C.

She comes to Bradford Community Church having experience in churches with a very wide range of theological beliefs.

“I ground my sermons in the universal truths of all religions, UU history, stories and parables, family systems theory, and pastoral concerns,” she said. 

She also highlights what she believes is crucial to all of us — intentionality in our relationships.

 Throughout her secular life and in her ministries, Henley has focused on three social justice issues: reducing homelessness, combatting violence against women and children, and, more recently, eradicating prejudice against transgender youth and young adults.

Before seminary, she worked in marketing and sales for several Fortune 100 companies. Her areas of expertise were ergonomics, work flow assessment and data processing systems.

Henley has been on a sabbatical for a year and a half. She will preach at her first service on July 27.

Bradford Community Church is located at 5810 Eighth Ave. Information about the church is available at

General Assembly 2014
Mark you calendars, our Annual Alumni/ae Meeting and Gathering is on Wednesday, June 25, 2014 at 5:30 PM.
Congratulations to our Alumni/ae!

Bret Lortie, MDiv '07 is the Senior Minister at the Unitarian Church of Evanston.

Barbara Gadon MDiv '97 is the Lead Minister at Eliot Unitarian Chapel

Abhi Janamanchi MDiv '98 is the Senior Minister of Cedar Lane Unitarian Universalist Church.

Peter Farriday MDiv '14 is the Consulting Minister of UU Church of Santa Clarita Valley.

Congrats to our Alumni/ae in Candidate Status:

Aaron McEmrys MDiv '07 is the Senior Minister Candidate at the Unitarian Universalist Church of Arlington, VA.

Karen Quinlan MDiv '12 is the Ministerial Candidate for James Reeb Unitarian Universalist Congregation

Judy Zimmerman MDiv '13 is the Ministerial Candidate for Mid-Columbia Unitarian Universalist Fellowship

Sarah Richards MDiv '13 is the Ministerial Candidtate for the Carbondale Unitarian Fellowship.

2006 Alum Bonnie J. Meyer DMin receives the Anton Boisen Professional Services Award

Anaheim, CA – The Association of Professional Chaplains (APC) was honored to present its Anton Boisen Professional Service Award this year to the Reverend Bonnie J. Meyer DMin BCC. The award was presented on June 21 during the 2014 APC Annual Conference in Anaheim, CA. Each year, APC recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the field of chaplaincy care through its Annual Leadership Awards.

For full news article, please click here. 

Alumni/ae Passed in 2013/2014